The Climb

If you have ever joined us at Amigos for Christ for a life-transforming week, you would very likely remember your first full day in Nicaragua with feelings of both joy and challenge. This is because on every Sunday we as a group venture to climb the youngest active volcano in Nicaragua, Cerro Negro or “black hill.” Just to look up at from the rocky road can be rather intimidating as it is visually obvious why it was named accordingly. I actually remember my first climb, seeing all the black sand and increasing elevation, thinking  “am I supposed to help other people get up that thing?” After many Sundays and successful climbs, I have cultivated a rather unique relationship with that very familiar cerro.

A few Sundays ago, we had a group here visiting and it was my turn to climb as the group nurse. Alike many climbs before, we prepare the group members for the day ahead by giving them tips and advising them the best tactic to conquer for many, their first volcano. The major takeaway and focus for the climb is to create a sense of team bonding and allow them to lean on one another and God, as the rest of the week will require it. We, as Amigos always believe that things are better together, that no one should do anything alone. In fact, our tag word has grown to become “together” or in Spanish, “juntos.”

With the idea of “juntos” in mind, my mission for the climb  especially as a nurse, is to always accompany those who are struggling to encourage them upwards, to let them know that they are not alone, and intervene medically if needed. On this particular Sunday, I accompanied a new friend up the back of the volcano and even though it was familiar, strangely it felt new.  As with most people who have a harder time, we take many breaks for water and rest. I think on this particular day, we rested about every 5-6 minutes. I know at some points, she wanted to give up, but never once did she complain or come close to actually giving up. Even if she decided she wanted to turn around, I don’t think anyone was going to let her, especially the 5 men assisting and motivating her to keep going. She inspired me with her commitment to push herself physically and her humility to embrace “juntos” with the entourage around her.

I got the blessing of being reminded of the importance of community around you, especially when you are struggling. Nearing the last stretch of the climb, I stood behind as she and her “men” trudged forward. I watched as “juntos” came to life in front of me.  I don’t think I’ve ever seen a woman so supported by others, from all sides she had a hand to hold, a hand pushing her forward from behind, and a voice ahead of her calling her forward.  I was reminded of one of my favorite verses found in Psalm 139: 5 that says “you hem me in behind and before, you have laid your hand upon me.”  In hard, joyful, and challenging times we must always remember that the Lord himself hems us in on the climb forward, always giving us the assurance that we aren’t ever alone. I know I’ve needed this lately, and I hope you too are reminded of that truth. May we always maintain the spirit of being “juntos.”

Author: tayloradventuresblog

I like to write about the world and how the Lord speaks to me through it.

2 thoughts on “The Climb”

Leave a comment